Tobin Marks Elected to American Philosophical Society

Tobin Marks, CISTAR Thrust 3 Lead, is elected to the American Philosophical Society.

(May 11, 2022) - The Center for Innovative and Strategic Transformation of Alkane Resources (CISTAR) congratulates Professor Tobin Marks, Vladimir N. Ipatieff Professor of catalytic chemistry and chemical and biological engineering at Northwestern University and CISTAR Thrust leader, as he has been elected to the American Philosophical Society (APS).

The oldest learned society in the United States, APS was founded in 1743 by Benjamin Franklin for the purpose of “promoting useful knowledge.” Marks will join 818 resident members and 157 international members and top scholars from a wide variety of academic disciplines.

This recent election adds to Marks’ extensive list of achievements, including the U.S. National Medal of Science, American Chemical Society Joseph Priestley Medal, Camille and Henry Dreyfus Prize in the Chemical Sciences, Principe de Asturias Prize for Technical and Scientific Research. Mark’s full list of accomplishments can be found in his faculty profile for Northwestern University.